MACHINE LEARNING GROUP

TECHNISCHE UNIVERSITÄT KAISERSLAUTERN

Welcome to the Machine Learning Group from the Technische Universität Kaiserslautern

The machine-learning group at TU Kaiserslautern was established in 2014 at HU Berlin and moved to TU Kaiserslautern in 2017. The group currently comprises professors, postdoc, PhD students, and student assistants. The group is interested in theory and algorithms of statistical machine learning (especially deep learning) and its applications. Our research covers a broad range of topics and applications, where they try to unify theoretically proven approaches (e.g., based on learning theory) with recent advances (e.g., in deep learning and reinforcement learning). Topics we have been working on include multi-modal learning, anomaly detection, extreme classification, adversarial learning for computer security, and explainable AI. Members of the group have received various awards, including the Google Most Influential Papers award (2014). The group contributes the community with helpful service. Members of the group have reviewed for more than 50 conferences and 30 journals. Marius Kloft has been frequently serving as an area chair for AAAI, AISTATS, and ECML, and he is an associate editor of IEEE TNNLS.

Research Group

Faculty


Prof. Dr. Marius Kloft

Head

E-mail
kloft@cs.uni-kl.de

Jun.-Prof. Dr. Sophie Burkhardt

Junior professor

E-mail
burkhardt@cs.uni-kl.de

Administration


Heike Neu

Secretary

E-mail
neu@cs.uni-kl.de

Steffen Reithermann

Technician & administrative assistant

E-mail
reithermann@cs.uni-kl.de

Post Docs


Dr. Antoine Ledent

Post Doc

E-mail
ledent@cs.uni-kl.de

PhD students


Rodrigo Alves

PhD student

E-mail
alves@cs.uni-kl.de

Muhammad Dorgham

PhD student

E-mail
dorgham@cs.uni-kl.de

Naghmeh Ghanooni

PhD student

E-mail
ghanooni@cs.uni-kl.de

Matthias Kirchler

PhD student

E-mail
matt.kirchler@gmail.com

Waleed Mustafa

PhD student

E-mail
wmustafa@cs.uni-kl.de

Saurabh Varshneya

PhD student

E-mail
varshneya@cs.uni-kl.de

Billy Franks

PhD student

E-mail
b_franks12@cs.uni-kl.de

Philipp Liznerski

PhD student

E-mail
liznerski@cs.uni-kl.de

Dennis Wagner

PhD student

E-mail
wagnerd@rhrk.uni-kl.de

Phil Ostheimer

PhD student

E-mail
ostheimer@cs.uni-kl.de

Student assistants


Andrew Balinski

Student Assistant

E-mail
a_balinski18@cs.uni-kl.de

Geri Gokaj

Student Assistant

E-mail
ggokaj@rhrk.uni-kl.de

Tobias Michels

Student Assistant

E-mail
t_michels15@cs.uni-kl.de

Luís Mercado

Student Assistant

E-mail
lawmercado@inf.ufrgs.br

Denys Senkin

Student Assistant

E-mail
dsenkin@rhrk.uni-kl.de

Till Werner

Student Assistant

E-mail
t_werner17@cs.uni-kl.de

Shradha Ghansiyal

Student Assistant

E-mail
-

Tom Kollmer

Student Assistant

E-mail
-

Justus Will

Student Assistant

E-mail
-

Jobs

You can find information about opened positions accessing the Group's Admission system.